top of page

Navigator Staff Holiday Movie Fav’s




Julia Neumann: Sitting in the living room with my family, covered by a Christmas blanket, eating Thanksgiving leftovers, the fire crackling beside me, I watched my favorite holiday movie 2018 version of The Grinch. This year I watched The Grinch the day after Thanksgiving to ring in the holiday season, and every year I get so excited to watch it with my family. The animation is amazing, all of the characters are all adorable - even the Grinch who you are supposed to dislike in the beginning you can’t help but love and root for throughout the entire movie- and it never fails to put me in the holiday spirit. The creators of this movie did an amazing job keeping the essence of the beloved original Grinch, while also adding a modern flair. The movie follows the growth of the main character the Grinch from a spiteful hater of Christmas, to someone touched by and in awe of the magic, joy, and love of Christmas while also depicting the life of Cindy-Lou and her overworked mother. Cindy-Lou and the Grinch’s paths cross a couple times throughout the movie, and with each encounter the Grinch has with Cindy-Lou, his anger with The Who’s and the world lessens as he experiences compassion and kindness for the first time in his entire life. At the end of the movie the Grinch is invited to his first ever Christmas party and finds that unlike he has believed for the entirety of his life he is not alone and finds comfort in those around him. 



Tabitha Weier: Every year as the Christmas season gets closer I love to watch holiday movies and listen to Christmas music. Although I have so many favorite movies, my favorite would have to be Home Alone. Released in 1990, this movie is loved by many people including myself. One of my favorite things about it is how there is a series of them. These movies are funny and easy to watch because everyone loves them. The first Home Alone, my favorite, is about an 8 year old little boy, Kevin,  who is getting ready to go on a trip to Paris with his family for Christmas. They all wake up in the morning stressed and in a rush. The family all piles into cars but they leave behind something very important, Kevin. Having the whole house to himself, Kevin eats pizza, watches TV, and does anything he wants. But it is not all fun and games when 2 burglars try to rob his house. Thinking no one is home, they try to break in but Kevin is always one step ahead of them. This movie is full of laughs and gets you to sit on the edge of your seat at times. Overall, I would recommend this lighthearted and funny movie to anyone and I will define rewatching the series this December. 



Katie Johnson: One of my favorite holiday movies is Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, which was released in 1964. I think Rudolph is such a classic, and I have so many happy memories associated with it because my family and I watch it every December! The characters are all so lovable and even though the movie was made many years ago, it is still so fun to watch and such a nostalgic, sweet movie. However, my favorite genre of Christmas movies is definitely Hallmark movies, which I randomly started watching with my family last year and now my parents and I love! The acting in them is not very good and the stories are usually a little cliché, but they are so easy to follow and fun to watch, and I will definitely be tuning in to quite a few this holiday season!



Chloe Lawrence: A holiday movie that I watch every year is Elf!  The movie, starring Will Ferrell, was released in 2003.  Because the movie takes place in New York City, it is fun to see all the Christmas decorations around the city.  It is also a great family friendly comedy that little kids to adults can enjoy watching. Although the movie is goofy, it does bring in the true essence of Christmas by the end of the story.  Elf is definitely a holiday classic to put on your must-watch list, if you haven’t already!



Tabitha Lambert: My favorite Holiday movie is The Santa Clause which came out in 1994. It’s a great movie about how a normal single dad gets unwillingly turned into Santa Clause. It’s a comedy that I make sure to watch every Christmas and it even has sequels that are just as good as the first!



Amelia Rae Creed: My favorite holiday movie is Elf. My favorite holiday memory is sitting on the couch in my living room in cozy clothes with the tv on, with buttered popcorn and hot chocolate out in front of me, watching this comedic Christmas movie. The acting is so incredible, and it really gets you in the Christmas spirit! Will Ferrell is one of my favorite actors, and one of the reason why is because of this movie!



Rose Hansen: My top holiday movie this year is split in two: my genuine favorite, and my Cheeseball pick. My genuine favorite is the animated short(ish) film called Prep and Landing. This inventive take on the lives of two elves tells the story of Wayne, a jaded elf who has been passed up one too many times for a promotion, and his young, eager, trainee, named Lanny. Getting houses ready for Santa’s arrival on Christmas Eve, Lanny must convince Wayne that the magic of Christmas can never disappear, and that bringing joy to others is the true reward of Christmas. My Cheeseball pick has got to be Christmas Chronicles Two, which I watched the day after Thanksgiving with my stuffed family. Maybe it was all that turkey, but the movie was one of the most ridiculous holiday movies that I have seen yet--and I loved it. From slightly creepy elves to magic potions to splashy gospel musical numbers, this movie had it all. Fans of the first movie will be rewarded with a good laugh and a great time.



Mrs. Browne:  A Charlie Brown Christmas, a TV special aired in 1965. Based on the comic strip Peanuts by Charles M. Shulz, A Charlie Brown Christmas reminds me that holidays do not need to be perfect. The decorations, food, table settings, gifts, all the material things do not matter--how we celebrate in our hearts matters most. Such a wonderful reminder to enjoy who and what we have during a pandemic. Christmas and all other holidays may not turn out as we envision them. No worries. Whoever is missing at our tables and whatever special events are not happening just keep us all safe for our holidays next year. Love the music--it’s awesome jazz composed by Vince Guaraldi--so good.

bottom of page