top of page

Life Changing Lessons in Disguise

The adjustment to highschool is no easy task no matter what anyone says. You interact with new people, get lost in concrete halls, and struggle in classes completely different from eighth grade. Juggling core classes is one thing and the other free blocks are supposed to be a nice break in your day. Whether it is drawing in art to take your mind off a test, taking a walk in health to get fresh air, or sitting in the Little Theater and having ordinary lessons about the brain, empathy, and more change the way you think about the world. My experience in Mrs. Johnstons Ninth Grade Seminar class was truly life changing. 

I had low expectations when I first walked into class expecting nothing more than the same talk about having a growth mindset everyone has been getting since second grade. I only wish I could tell my past self this class would without a doubt be the highlight of my day. At first participation was low but by the end, Mrs. Johnston had me and my fellow peers making inferences, expressing our opinions, and connecting everything we learned to the real world. One thing we were tasked with almost everyday was journaling, sometimes for a quick two minutes and sometimes for ten. Although a nuisance at first, my classmates and I were pushed to be honest and open which I think taught us to implement this same openness in our actions outside of the classroom. Another thing I noticed was the making of personal connections from topic to student that I think was the biggest theme throughout the term. I still find myself thinking about certain lessons and ways to use them. Furthermore, the different teaching methods are what I believe absolutely made seminar worthwhile. We would read in class, do team building activities, watch videos, do research, listen to books, and so much more. Some of the psychological studies we learned about were done by top schools, namely Harvard, Yale, and

Stanford. For me personally some of the research we learned really fueled a growing interest in psychology and how the brain works. This kind of interest in a class is something I have never experienced before and I can only hope the classes that follow mine will have the same experience. 

When I was in Mrs. Johnston’s Ninth Grade Seminar class, everything became more manageable in and outside of school. After talking with my ex seminar classmates, I have found they feel the same way. The kind of personal impact this class has had on so many is, in my opinion, more than enough of a reason to continue these educational lessons up to the sophomores, juniors, and seniors. My goal would be to spread the lessons I have learned to as many people as possible even if I do it alone and I cannot thank the school and especially Mrs. Johnston enough for giving me this opportunity and gift.


Comentarios


bottom of page