top of page

News Clip: Cases By Kate

Fifteen-year-old Katie Maescher surpasses what a “normal” hobby or co-curricular activity is for a high-schooler, running and expanding her own company, Cases By Kate. Packaging, designing, advertising and selling her products is no easy task, yet Katie has strategically managed to create a popular and expanding business. Cases By Kate sells interchangeable temples, that are trendy, customizable and affordable, CBK designs are also available on apparel.

Three years ago, Katie came up with the idea of starting her own case company, and shared her first case products. I have been extremely impressed at how hard she has worked to form a simple idea into a flourishing company. I sat down for an interview with Katie, to discuss the business, challenges she has faced and plans for the future of her company.

When asked about starting the business, Katie said:

I was thirteen, in seventh grade. I was looking to get a job at the time, even though I was a bit young. My mom owns her own business, so I thought it would be cool to start my own and I came up with the idea of phone cases.

When asked about the amount of time put into the business, and the challenges that come with running the business, Katie responded:

Probably an hour to two hours per day, it depends on how many orders we have. So at least seven hours per week. Figuring out how to run a business and how to appeal to all audiences has been my biggest challenge. Also, how to connect and interact with people maturely and professionally. I have learned so much from it.

When asked about sacrifices she has had to make for the business, Katie stated:

I feel like sometimes I won't be able to hang out with my friends because I'll have to do orders, or I'll have to leave early to do orders. Other times I'll have to go to events, which can interfere with friends, but again it's nothing that is too crazy.

When asked about social media’s impact on the company, Katie responded:

It’s the largest part of my business. We have close to 50,000 (Instagram) followers and that's what drives everything. We make creative posts which I think sets us aside from other companies and we really try to engage with our followers. Whenever our followers ask me a question, I’ll write back to them and connect with them, which is awesome.

When asked about her favorite part of running her own business, Katie said:

I think just in general, doing something that not many teenagers do. I have been given so many opportunities that I never thought I would have gotten at my age, and there are so many things coming up that I am excited for!

When asked about the future for CBK, and what will happen when she goes to college, Katie stated:

I hope to get more into bigger events, exposing it more towards larger social events. I also want to start selling in more stores, we are selling in four now but I want to get into larger chains. I’ve thought about this (college) so much, honestly I have no idea. I definitely want to go to college for business and I have no idea if the company will still be here or even if it will get bigger. I am planning on making it as big as I possibly can until the time comes, I’m just living it day by day. If it does get to be a bigger thing, I may be able to take it with me or we may be in a separate office. We’ll just kind of see where it goes.

When asked to give advice to high schoolers who want to start their own business, Katie said:

Honestly, if you want to do it, you should do it. There is nothing holding you back. Of course it is hard to start up, and it's difficult and frustrating, but if you’re devoted to it and you really are engaged and active, then you can really go far with it.

To visit Cases By Kate’s official website, click on the link: http://casesbykate.com

bottom of page