top of page

Norwell High School Soccer Interview

Chloe Troy:

What is it like to be the last defender before the goal, is there any pressure or do you like it?

Being the last defender is of course stressful but having such supportive teammates and coaches makes it much less scary back there. There are times when the nerves get to me but when I look to Sarah (freshman) and Anna (senior) even just a smile from them makes me feel much better. What did it feel like realizing you won the state semifinals?

It didn’t really hit me until after the game that we are going to states. This is something I never thought would happen it is such a happy and reassuring feeling for everyone because we know we have the heart determination and skill but now that we are finally here it just feels like a dream come true. What has been your favorite memory of the season?

There are so many great memories from this season that it’s so hard to chose just one, everyday we make more and more but I would have to say winning the south sectionals is my favorite so far. Being down and having a comeback like that in such a tough game was such an amazing feeling when Emily (sophomore) put in that final goal in overtime, the happiness we all felt was unreal and something I will never forget. What are your thoughts on having home field advantage?

I never thought we would be playing such an intense game so late in tournament on our home field. All the people and fans cheering us on really helps and the fact that it was home and we practice on that field every day just made us feel that much more confident. How did it feel to look up and see tons and tons of fans cheering for you? Seeing all the fans and people there is a little scary but also a really nice feeling. It’s so nice to know that all the people are there to cheer us on and it just shows how supportive everyone in our town is.

Casey Ward:

You have been to a championship game before (for lacrosse) is there anything different about this one for soccer?

Yes this state championship game is much different than the lacrosse state championship because in soccer we have never been to the state final. The excitement is the same though.

What do you like about being a goalie?

Being a goalie is much different than playing the field because I love playing soccer and I do not have the best foot skills and I like having my defenders back the whole game.

What’s your favorite memory from this season?

My favorite memory from the season is when we beat Hanover in the south final. We were down by two and no one lost belief, which led us to win and overtime.

How do you feel about making it so far this season?

Right from tryouts our team clicked in the same way lacrosse did last year when we won states and we became so close and trusting that I knew we would and could make it far.

How do you stay calm in such stressful games especially when it’s sudden death and the next goal in can cost you your season?

When the ball comes anymore close to scoring on me, my teammates but especially defense are always encouraging me which keeps me calm

Anna Roman:

How do you feel about being a senior and making it all the way to the state championship? I feel so blessed to be a part of this team and to be able to play in the state final on Saturday. I am so happy and so proud of my team and everyone who has come to support us. Everything has been so positive and I can’t wait to play again. What's your favorite memory from this season? My favorite memory was our win against Hanover in the south sectional finals. We were done 0-2 at the start of the second half and fought and believed until the very end when Emily Fiorella was able to put a gorgeous ball in the back of the net. The comeback and watching what our team was able to do was amazing!

What will you miss most about your team/teammates? I'm gonna miss the bonds we all have. We’ve gotten so close this season and I’m gonna miss see them everyday at practice. Great win on Wednesday (3-0 Norwell) What are your thoughts on your next game?

I am super excited for this game. It’s gonna be a great matchup. We’re just gonna go out and play our game and give it all we have. South Hadley is a talented team and we are ready! What is your favorite thing about your coach (Kara)?

There are so many great things about Kara. My favorite is her positivity and enthusiasm. She is our biggest supporter and truly brings us all together. We’re so lucky to have her.

bottom of page